New technology to heal nostalgia


We all feel excited about the rise of new technology. We contemplate about the impact of Ipads, Kindles and similar devices on publishing industry. How is it going to change our lives in five-ten-twenty years from now? Drastically, everyone says. I am not an expert on these matters, just a natural dreamer.

Last night I was reading a few bedtime stories to my children from an old Russian cardboard book that I brought all the way from Russia many years ago.  ( I am quite idealistic in my attempts to give my kids some flavour of Russian folklore.)

My son touched every page of the book, while my daughter enthusiastically chewed on the book corners. It made me think: how will this reading ritual differ when I become a grandmother. I mean, will I  be reading a bedtime story to my grandchildren from an Ipad?

This future alternative has its ups and downs. I realise that I won’t need to travel overseas to buy heavy Russian books or spend extra money on Internet to have it shipped. I would just have to get e-books or Ipad applications.  But, from the other hand, what about the tactile enjoyment of page-turning that I’ve been experiencing for past twenty years? Will it last?

Nowadays here in Australia, immigrants are exposed to all sorts of cultural services to heal their nostalgia: they watch TV-channels in their own language, they listen to radio broadcasts, they go to national food groceries and clubs . . . Still, most of them miss their countries a lot.

I imagine that the new technology is going to develop other useful applications to heal nostalgia such as: I-air (Click this button to enjoy the native air of your land), I-food (to enhance the taste of local food and transform it to Indian, Greek or any other flavour), and most importantly, I-accept – to accept the fact that the country they dream about is no longer there and the land they miss is not located in a physical place on Globe; rather in their own mind. And once immigrants accept this application, they may upgrade their devices to I-happy application  – no matter where they find themselves to live.

Categories: children, digital media, family, feelings, life values | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “New technology to heal nostalgia

  1. Rochel Zipp

    Hey SR I’m loving your blog! Keep it up :). Hope your doing well out there in Australia. Love ya!

  2. Wei

    I really enjoyed reading your article. especially the last paragraph. last time when my boyfriend and i were webcaming on skype, i thought the experience is no where near real because we get nothing beyond visual and audio through skype. we were hoping in future,new technologies will be able to deliver other senses as well.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

