Finding God Worldwide


A couple of weeks ago I had an interesting discussion with one of my atheist acquaintances, who continually ignored my attempts to prove the existence of God in our world.  No matter what I’ve said, that person had the same answer: ‘I can’t believe in G-d, because I cannot touch Him or find a meaningful connection to Him.’ Throughout the debate, this guy frequently checked his fancy smartphone to read a new email, update his status on facebook and text a girlfriend, who was traveling overseas.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve never associated myself with any sort of missioners available on the, so-called, spiritual market. And I don’t enjoy provocative discussions with people who are narrow-minded.  I bet that the atheist had no idea about the digital processes enabling him to receive text messages in seconds, about all those people working hard to come up a new Iphone every few years and, how much more so, about the divine power, working on top of this world, diffusing its frequencies at super-high speed.

Back to earth: the atheist’s attitude is very common: why should he search behind the surface for deeper meaning when his life is simple and satisfying as it it?

Well, that’s not my model of attitude. I’ve always searched for meaning between the layers of life, carefully examining on both sides in my attempt to find the reason for twists and turns of my own illogical biography. So, this time, having dealt with the digitised atheist, I had to prove otherwise and search for God in World Wide Web and find a meaningful connection to God online.

It’s not that hard, since Internet is engraved in our everyday routine: we might forget to brush our teeth, but checking facebook – NEVER!  And, honestly speaking, who cares if the web itself is not tangible? For most of us – digital media addicts – the network is more real than anything else in this room!

That’s why I find it ridiculous to hear about disbelief in God based on lack of tangibility. Human thoughts, feelings and hopes aren’t embodied in a physical form. Does it make you question if they exist as well?

Enough on that subject. What I am really keen to discuss is how to find God online. I am giving credit where credit is due: the Internet is full of useful (and not so useful) materials on every aspect of human life, and spirituality is not an exception.

I was fascinated to read a review of these revolutionary apps for smartphones, developed specifically to enable its users to pray, read the Scripture and receive all the relevant information about their religion (in my case Judaism) on the phone. For ages I had to pack my tiny handbag with heavy, religious books I’ve needed on a daily basis, and now it was all taken care of. In the beginning I was not sure if G0d would appreciate my prayer the same way, having prayed on Iphone. . . But the truth is that the modern technology brings G-d closer to us as never before.

I find the Godly presence on my email subscription list, when I receive daily concise newsletters from this great Jewish heritage portal about the weekly Scripture portion or an overview of the upcoming Jewish holidays with a delicious recipe of traditional matzoth-ball soup.

Our century brings accessibility of the divine to our doors, the same way as online shopping does. These days it is possible to write a letter to God using a simple, online service. The procedure is not free, but some people find it worthy.

Whenever I have a religious dilemma or just need professional, rabbinical assistance I log on to Ask Moses, which is a portal about Judaism with a 24 hour online chat option (except for Sabbath and religious holidays.) I never hesitate to chat with a Rabbi, since it’s fast, personal and confidential. It’s really awesome as you can see from this introductory video about the portal:

All I want to say is that the key to finding God worldwide is hidden in our own attitude. Once the mind is open, it’s easy to connect to God through the divine modem of spirituality and learn to see the miraculous origin of the unique universe around us.

Categories: digital media, Judaism, spirituality | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

