Seek an Alternative Route to Work and Education


This morning I  arrived to work on time, leaving behind a pile of uninviting dirty dishes, pyramids of unfolded laundry and scattered kids’ toys around the house. Cleaning up was not an option: I was running late to work, as usual.

Ignoring the guilt feelings about the poor house management, I ran to catch my train, where I was squashed between a petite Chinese girl, holding a massive University book and a tall gentleman’s wide briefcase.

Being a public transport passenger for years, I kinda romanticise the sounds of train honks and clanking of trams; I enjoy observing new passengers – I even write down their conversations to use later on in my literary experiments… I love the feeling of tranquillity that rests upon me when I find a seat by the window and get a chance to explore the face of Melbourne (that happens rarely: usually, I do my homework on public transport, as it’s the only quality time I can spend on my education…)

But I absolutely hate travelling in the early rush hours, when the crowd holds on to the train hangers and their hot coffee cups at the same time, trying  to keep wobbly balance, hunting for a free seat and pouring outside the train to make it to work or university class by 9 a.m. sharp.

Why is it so essential to enter your office/class exactly at 9 a.m.? Simply, because it’s been a common practise for hundreds, if not for thousands of years. They say it’s about the life’s order. We get up early, dress up quickly, grab the coffee and – out we run –  to catch that train/bus/tram (I do ignore car drivers on purpose, not because I am jealous (maybe a little), but because these pragmatic people are missing out on the morning fitness you get to benefit from when jumping on bus steps, running to interchange, spinning to make it to the train (because the next one won’t show up for twenty minutes.)

So, let’s talk it over: how many of us put our lives on hold and don’t get an additional degree or an alternative source of income, because we cannot commute to work or school? I see you nodding.

toomanymornings.com

Back to work routine. After the humongous efforts, we arrive to office at 9 a.m. We turn on the computers, make ourselves a cup of tea and start typing and using phones, counting minutes to go to lunch.

Now, please explain to me: why can’t we work and study from home? These days the modern technology makes freelance work and correspondence courses acceptable and, quite often, advisable. Gotta write a report? The old friend Microsoft Word does the job, no matter if it’s installed on your home computer or at work. Adobe inDesign, Photoshop or MYOB is not any different. Need to prepare a Power Point Presentation? Make one at home and simply upload it here for the whole world to witness in seconds! Conference video calls are brought to you by Skype, online cafes deliver lunch and coffee, if you are too busy (aka lazy) to go to the kitchen. Just switch off the addictive facebook (really!) and get to work or study at your own pace in the convenience of your lovely home. Don’t forget that working and studying from home is also eco-friendly.

Still,  most people aren’t ready to switch to freelancing, since going out enables them to be more organised and not to spend the day dressed in their pyjamas and bunny sleepers. It all depends on personality. I don’t suggest turning into nomads, who stay in their caves with a broadband internet connection . . .  Just letting you know that the technology is there and a lot of professions do not require constant office presence.

I am talking about you: journalists, accountants, designers, programmers, businessmen, new mothers willing to work from home and everyone in between: explore the technology – it helps you to achieve.

triplepundit.com

Categories: digital media, Education, social networks, work | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Seek an Alternative Route to Work and Education

  1. I think it would certainly work for some… While I would love to work from home, I don’t know how much I’d actually get done. I NEED a deadline in order to work effectively, which leads me to believe I probably also need geographic boundaries to work effectively. Or at least some self-discipline!

  2. vadim

    I agree with you .I think its a gimnastic for the brain and we cant go to slep without click
    some e-mail.

  3. How do you see me nodding (stares out window nervously)…ah, oops, of course rhetoric 😉

    I think the culture is changing somewhat, and there are plenty of roles that for reasons of practicality are better managed from home. But you still have to establish a sense of trust with your employer for them to let you work from home.

    Plus, Facebook or no Facebook, invariably there are more distractions at home – especially if you have a family. Also, some people have poor time-management skills and need a working environment to give them that little extra push. Being in a workplace is also a good way to establishe hierachy, which arguably boosts productivity. And let us not forget, it’s easier to get a hold of someone in the office.

    but how I hate the morning rush…

  4. I wish we could all just work less… less hours, less days, less parts of the year, less stress… Forget tree changes and sea changes, we could all have a speed change… But even capitalism’s major alternative, communism, fetishises work… So I don’t expect change any time soon.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

