‘The Social Network’ film review with a twist on facebook friendship


I am not a big movie fan, unlike my hubby, who considers movies to be his own gateway from reality. On the contrary, I dearly love books, written in all languages, produced in all countries and sold in all stores worldwide.

I love surfing through bookstores and breathing in the smell of freshly published books, touching the glossy covers and turning over the pages. And even when my better half takes me out to Jam Factory cinema once  in a blue moon, I sneak out to Borders before the movie starts to reconnect with my beloved books and only then I find strength to get back to the limited screened world of someone else’s imagination.

Movie lovers, please don’t get upset with me.  I’m not hopeless. I’ve recently started to develop a taste for good, meaningful movies. I’ve enjoyed the intense colour of Avatar; I was blown away by the perplexed plot of Inception; and I was completely mesmerised by The Social Network film.

Theatrical poster

The movie grabs your attention from the second it starts and you somehow believe that it’s all happening for real.

Is it the brilliant, sincere play of Jesse Eisenberg ?

Is the credibility linked to the real names of Facebook founders or it has to do with the contemporary times the film discusses (how many of you thought during the course of the film about what were you up to in February 2004 when Mark Zuckerberg was launching the legendary facebook in his Harvard dormitory room?)

Probably, all of the above is correct. And on top of that, the movie unveils the powerful, emotional truth about us – the contemporary web users – and the new communication model we’ve adapted from genius Mark Zuckerberg who managed to completely change the idea of friendship.

I don’t know about you guys, but I did check my facebook page at least 5 times during the viewing.

Does that mean that Facebook is a big part of my life? It definitely does. Yet, I am not ashamed by my addiction: I enjoy every minute of it !

Well, not exactly. Even though, Facebook helped me to reconnect with people from my past, it has also misinterpreted what friendship really is. I used to think that friends were a group of people who care about each other, call and text one another and get together in REAL LIFE on a regular basis. How old-fashioned is that!

Nowadays, we get together online by sitting on our couches worldwide, spend hours  surfing through gazillions of friends-of-friends’ photos in the middle of the night (thanks to digital cameras that upload 284 pics online in less than 5 minutes!)

We change our statuses every few hours with extremely ‘important’ information such as ‘I’ve just got a pimple on my nose; any suggestions?’  Call Ambulance, for G-d’s sake!

I don’t know about you, but some information is meant to be private for a reason.

Facebook presents another hidden problem – remember, how cool it was to add tonnes of contacts including real friends, neighbours, classmates, relatives, friends of relatives, your elementary school crossing guards, celebrities and friends of friends of celebrities… should I go on?

Now, when the hotness of befriending the whole entire world is slowly disappearing, we are faced with an issue of defriending those, who mean nothing at all to you but still are your facebook friends.

About two weeks ago, I had a negative experience when I tried to have a serious conversation with one of my once-upon-a-time good real friends, who seems to be very lost in her life at the moment (according to my humble opinion, of course)

The truth is that I haven’t seen her for almost four years, but we regularly spoke on facebook. And, when I wrote a few lines of criticism, she was furious that ‘a complete stranger (aka me) dares to comment on her life, living miles away from her.’

Boy, that made me think…  It was a painful wake-up call that our friendship evaporated over time, but the facebook was there, sending me notifications about her events, photos and status updates.

On that very day, I went through my 200+ ”friends’ list and got rid of 70 % of my ‘friends’, who never showed up at my door when I was sick or happy or ever called me to ask how I was. Some of the ‘defriended victims’ questioned my decision later on, typing that since we shared some childhood memories, it was appropriate to stay in touch on facebook, but most of my once-upon-a-time friends haven’t even raised this self-explanatory question. They thought the same way about me and they were right.

I think that facebook should come up with a new unsocial network ‘Pastbook’ that would disconnect people: so-called friends from past who have nothing to share in present, but aren’t honest with themselves about the bitter truth. Good luck !

I’ve realised that it’s not the amount of friends that counts, but who they are.  As for me, I think that I only have a couple of real friends, who care about me, no matter how wrong I might be at times.  And I dearly love them myself.

And by the way, my best friend  just logged on facebook. Gotta send her a freshly baked virtual cake and a cup of digital tea.

Anyone for a recipe?

Categories: celebrities, digital media, feelings, film reviews, social networks | Tags: , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “‘The Social Network’ film review with a twist on facebook friendship

  1. “he Social Network is based on the book The Accidental Billionaires by Ben Mezrich, which the book’s publicist once described as “big juicy fun” rather than “reportage.”[49] The film’s screenwriter Aaron Sorkin told New Yorkmagazine, “I don’t want my fidelity to be to the truth; I want it to be to storytelling,” adding, “What is the big deal about accuracy purely for accuracy’s sake, and can we not have the true be the enemy of the good?”[50]
    According to Sorkin’s script, Zuckerberg created Facebook to elevate his stature after not getting into any of the elite final clubs at Harvard. Yet Zuckerberg told The New Yorker he had no interest in joining the final clubs.[3]

  2. Wow, Shoshanna! You are quick to reply:)
    Thanks.
    I know that any movie is not completely accurate, even though many of the events that were discussed in this movie actually took place in real life, but that’s not my main point. It’s the revolution of feelings that came to life when facebook was launched. And that’s pretty powerful.

  3. finkel Vadim

    Hi, Linok ! This article is a very diply
    penitrate to the philosophy of our life.You discussed a very complicated item as friendship.
    Friendship and love are chemical connections
    bitvin people.So, to find real connection is a way.Sometimes we cant find it duting our live. When you can say that you have a friend i think we can compare it with blassing.I want you get blassings to have friends and love and …….!

  4. Miriam

    Brilliant post! But, oh, how sadly true and truly happy. Sadly – because millions (ok, maybe thousands) of us who are stuck to our “pastbook” friends’ lists do not dare to defreind – how would i? I will hurt my friend’s feelings if i do! Happy – it is when you step over your insecurity and stick to those who really matter, your focus tightens, appreciation grows, resulting in more meaningful friendships and therefore more meaningful life.
    Dear Sara Rivka – congrats on making this courageous step! And thanks for all …of the above :))

  5. Wei

    recently I was defriended by a girl who used to be my friend. I felt like she was simply using me without proper respect so I said I couldn’t help her anymore. Then she defriended me. I was surprised to realise it actually hurts to be defriended, even if it’s not real life. But it’s interesting that people take things so seriously with facebook. like what that girl did was certainly a gesture to show she wants nothing to do with me anymore. But it’s good that we have facebook now, so she doesn’t need to curse me in my face 🙂

  6. hi I was fortunate to search your subject in google
    your post is excellent
    I obtain a lot in your subject really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you blog is really splendid
    where can find it

    • Thank you bet! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed my blog. Please come back again and thanks for commenting. I got the theme of the blog from WordPress about three months ago. Have you checked the available themes?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

